The Computer Science Department represents the core of the Saarland Informatics Campus. Its story begins in 1969. When the then-mathematics lecturer Günter Hotz was appointed at Hamburg, the provincial government of Saarland offered him the first regular chair of Computer Science. Today we have more than 40 professors. They not only teach and do research, but also start businesses. Since 1995 more than 77 spin-offs have originated from the Saarland Informatics Campus.


The Saarbrücken Graduate School of Computer Science

currently has 375 doctoral candidates. More than 50% of them come from abroad.

From 2007 to 2011, our location was awarded

€86 million in third-party funds due to the well-respected scientific projects of our researchers.

The construction of 6 new buildings on the campus

within the past eight years is a sign of the exceptional growth of Saarbrücken Computer Science.

Fields of research

The Computer Science Department at Saarland University dedicates itself to fundamental and application-oriented research. To this end, the department works closely with the institutes co-located on the campus.

  • Security and Cryptography
  • Algorithms and Complexity
  • Information Systems
  • Software Systems
  • Programming
  • Software and Hardware Systems
  • Theory und Algorithms
  • Information Systems
  • Formal Methods
  • Machine Learning
  • Bioinformatics
  • Telecommunications
  • Spoken Language Systems
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Computational Biology and Life Sciences
  • Computational Linguistics
  • Graphics
  • Computer Vision and Multimodal Computing
  • Algebraic Geometry and Computer Algebra
  • Theoretical Computer Science
  • Mathematical Image Analysis
  • Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
  • Visual and Geometric Computing
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Software Engineering
  • Reactive Systems
  • Dependable Systems and Software
  • Computer Architecture and Parallel Computing
  • Real-Time and Embedded Systems
  • Information and Technology Management


Numerous academic awards and the renewal of the Cluster of Excellence and Graduate School in 2012 indicate the high standard of the local research.

ERC Starting Grant
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Steimle

Mitglied im wissenschaftlichen Rat des Europäischen Forschungsrates (European Research Council, ERC)
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Kurt Mehlhorn

Solid Modeling Pioneer 2016
Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel

ERC Advanced Grant
Prof. Dr. Holger Hermanns

Prof. Dr. Joachim Weickert

CeBIT Innovation Award 2016
Frederik Wiehr

CeBIT Innovation Award 2016
Felix Kosmalla

ERC Consolidator Grant
Dr. Derek Dreyer

Mitglied des Hochschulrates der TU Darmstadt
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Wahlster

ERC Consolidator Grant
Prof. Dr. Bernd Finkbeiner

"Junge Elite 2015" - Capital Magazine
Christian Theobalt

Mitglied des Präsidiums der Leopoldina
Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Lengauer

Vorsitzender des Intern. Wissenschaftl. Beirats (IAB) des National Institute of Informatics (NII), Tokio
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Wahlster

ISCB Fellowship
Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Lengauer

Grant for Fertility Innovation (GFI) for 2015 / 16
Prof. Dr. Andreas Keller

Mitglied der amerikanischen National Academy of Science
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Kurt Mehlhorn

Landespreis Hochschullehre an herausragende Lehrpersonen an den Hochschulen des Saarlandes
Prof. Dr. Michael Backes

Landespreis Hochschullehre an herausragende Lehrpersonen an den Hochschulen des Saarlandes
Prof. Dr. Christoph Sorge

Hector Wissenschaftspreis
Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Lengauer

Honorary Doctorate Maastricht
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Wahlster

Member of German Academy of Science and Engineering - acatech
Prof. Dr. Michael Backes

VLDB2014 - Best Paper Awards
Prof. Dr. Jens Dittrich, Felix Martin Schuhknecht und Alekh Jindal

Jan Koenderink Prize for Fundamental Contributions in Computer Vision
Prof. Dr. Joachim Weickert

IKT Hall of Fame
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Wahlster

ICSE's Most Influential Paper Award
Prof. Dr. Andreas Zeller

EUROGRAPHICS Young Researcher Award 2014,
Dr. Tobias Ritschel

Erasmus Medal of Academia Europaea,
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Kurt Mehlhorn

Member of the United States National Academy of Engineering (NAE),
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Kurt Mehlhorn

Awards before 2014